Artwork / Paintings / Etchings / Music & Art News / General News

Mãos de louro (PT / EN / IT) The lourel tree and the sea in the key of G | L’albero di alloro e il mare

O meu querido piano mantém a sua afinação tão maravilhosamente bem temperada, por tanto tempo. Até a mim, impressiona. (Pôde não parecer, por ver-me assim falar, mas quem conhece-me bem, sabe que tenho um ouvido exigente). Mas sabe tão bem ao toque, aquece a alma. Pode não parecer, mas é uma tábua de salvação, para mim, nesta terra perdida a ocidente. E alegra-me ver lugares da terra que não se contagiam com as loucuras que asolam estas paisagens ocidentais. Não sou nenhum Beethoven, e faltam-me as Beethovénias, (Beethovénias, como diz Alberto Pimenta) mas inspiram tanto, que é impossível não nascer linhas de contraponto e frentes de harmonia alargada, ora com retardandos, ora com strettos, ou dobrados, em espelho, invertido, e floridos, tudo numa epopeia magestral que só Deus sabe. Mas alegra-me o sol nascer a oriente, como sempre nasce. Fica sempre tão belo o anil que surge, quando o sol nos beija a fronte pela primeira vez no dia.

Nada mais. É só isto.
Ponto e parágrafo.


(Não tenho mãos grandes, não estendem mais de uma nona aumentada. Esmigalho e esmigalho-me com as folhas secas do meu loureiro que cheiram à revoada sobre o mar na minha mão).

piano cliff III – © G.A

Image.
” Piano Cliff !!I ” -work inspired by the Portuguese bluffs – Fonte da Telha,
June, 2013.

My piano keeps its tuning so wonderfully well tempered for so long. It impresses even me.
(seeing a person say such things may make it seem otherwise, but, whomsoever knows me well knows I have a demanding ear.)
It feels and sounds so good to the touch. It warms the soul. It’s a lifeline for me in this lost land to the West.
In earnest, I am glad to see places on earth that are not infected by the follies that plague these Western landscapes. I am no Beethoven, and I lack ”Beethovenian-curtseys” (Beethovénias, as Alberto Pimenta would say) , but they’re so inspiring, that it is impossible for lines of Counterpoint and striking fronts of extended Harmonies, not to sprout; sometimes imbued with retardandos, sometimes strettos, folded, in mirror, inverted, and florid, all in a master epic that only God knows. But, I am glad the sun rises in the East, as it always does. The indigo that appears is always so beautiful when the sun kisses our forehead for the first time in the day.

Nothing more. That’s it.
Point and paragraph. (as you would say in Portuguese)

__________________

(My hands are not big. They do not extend more than an augmented ninth. I crumble and am crumbled with dry leaves of my laurel tree that smell as a murmuration riding over the sea in my hand. That is the smell of my hands).

Il mio pianoforte mantiene la sua sintonia così meravigliosamente ben temperato per così tanto tempo. Ça m’impressionne, vraiment.

(a vedere una persona dirlo, può farlo sembrare diverso, ma, chi mi conosce bene sa che ho un orecchio esigente.)
Ci si sente e suona così bene al tatto. Riscalda l’anima. E’ un’ancora di salvezza per me in questa terra perduta a Ovest.
Sul serio, sono felice di vedere luoghi sulla terra che non sono infettati dalle follie che affliggono questi paesaggi occidentali. Non sono Beethoven, e non ho qualsiasi dei “Beethoveniani-riverenze (Beethovénias, come direbbe Alberto Pimenta), ma sono così stimolanti, che è impossibile che linee di Contrappunto e fronti accattivanti di Armonie estese, non germoglino;

  • a volte incorporato con qualche ritardo, a volte in stretto, piegato, in specchio, invertito e fiorito, il tutto in un’epica magistrale che solo Dio conosce. Ma sono contenta che il sole sorga ad est, come fa sempre. È sempre così bello l’indaco che appare, quando il sole bacia la nostra fronte per la prima volta nel corso della giornata.

Niente di più. Ecco fatto.
Punto e paragrafo.

(Le mie mani non sono grandi. Non si estendono più di una nona aumentata. Mi sbriciolano e sono sbriciolata con le foglie secche del mio albero di alloro che odorano come un mormorio cavalcando il mare in mio mano. Questo è l’odore delle mie mani).

Photo by Nav Photography on Pexels.com

photo by me

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.